The Sacred Art of the Mandala

In much the way it did for Carl Jung, the mandala has been pursuing me.

In early 2014 I began using circles and circular forms in nearly all of my mixed media artwork- painting spirals behind photos of models, collaging gold halos out of metallic paper, and painting a large round canvas are just a few examples. I’ve been sketching geometric designs in circles, painting round woodcuts and trying to get the circle out of my system only to find it embeds deeper and I cannot get rid of it.

It did not occur to me that the circles could be anything other than inspired by saint’s halos in traditional Christian artwork until I stumbled upon the Sacred Art of the Mandala class at UC Berkeley. To learn that the mandala is ubiquitous and carries such significance is a revelation.

Before embarking on our first official mandala, the class was directed to look inward. In my minds eye I saw kaleidoscopic images of the Grand Teton Mountains, redwood trees, deep blue skies, and the rich red of a broken but beating heart. I saw images of my own photographs manipulated and repeated into graphic and geometric forms- vivid blue skies, pale hands reaching heavenward, golden forms, and the deep red of spilled blood.

Since we were in class, I was unable to print my own photographs, but found adequate representation in the magazines I brought along with me. I’ve long been inspired by mosaic work in European churches, and decided to take that sort of approach. I picked a piece of round cardboard from the supplies table. I was drawn to the already perfect shape and the idea of working within that constrained perfection to make something symbolically complete and whole on its’ own.

I  cut the sky into triangles (to feel like young mountains and represent the outdoors). This open space circles around me as a protection and source of life. I chose to use this particular self-portrait because it is an image I created very intentionally for exhibition, which speaks volumes about who I am on the inside and outside. The photo speaks directly of a bleeding heart and is titled Baptised by Blood. The mandala is overwhelmed with red which is lighter by my head- the lightness is inspired by my saint’s halos, but also gives movement to the piece and speaks to flowing blood.

Untitled

One thought on “The Sacred Art of the Mandala

Leave a Reply

